MedNorth CareMed Slide Fee Discount Program
The Sliding Fee Discount Program is a federal program that permits MedNorth Health Center to discount normal charges for either a medical, dental visit and/or Behavioral health.
We offer a CareMed Sliding Fee Discount Program for eligible patients. All patients may apply regardless of whether you do or do not have insurance.
- We use your household size and income eligibility
- Patients with household size and income below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines will be eligible for CareMed Sliding Fee Plan Discounts
- Patients with house hold size and income at or below 100% of the federal poverty guideline will pay a nominal charge
- Sliding fee discounts apply after all insurance payments have been processed
- The amount on your bill, after your approval for the Care Med Sliding Fee Discount Program, is your responsibility
- The CareMed Sliding Fee Discount Program is the last payer after all benefit plans. You must apply for all public and private insurance that you qualify for including North Carolina Medicaid, North Carolina HealthChoice, Medicare, and employer plans
- CareMed Slide Fee Discount Program must be updated annually
Items you must bring to apply for the Slide Fee Discount Program:
Family size documentation and Income documentation. Please call the, MedNorth Health Center Eligibility Specialist, at 910-202-8641 for further information.
You have the right to receive a “Good Faith Estimate” explaining how much your health care will cost.
Under the law, health care providers need to give patients who don’t have certain types of health care coverage or who are not using certain types of health care coverage an estimate of their bill for health care items and services before those items or services are provided.
You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any health care items or services upon request or when scheduling such items or services. This includes related costs like medical tests, prescription drugs, or equipment.
If you schedule a health care item or service at least 3 business days in advance, make sure your health care provider or facility gives you a Good Faith Estimate inwriting within 1 business day after scheduling. If you schedule a health care item or service at least 10 business days in advance, make sure your health care provider or facility gives you a Good Faith Estimate in writing within 3 business days after scheduling. You can also ask any health care provider or facility for a Good Faith Estimate before you schedule an item or service. If you do, make sure the healthcare provider or facility gives you a Good Faith Estimate in writing within 3business days after you ask.
If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more for any provider or facility than your Good Faith Estimate from that provider or facility, you can dispute the bill.
Make sure to save a copy or picture of your Good Faith Estimate and the bill.
For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate, visit www.cms.gov/nosurprises/consumers, email FederalPPDRQuestions@cms.hhs.gov, or call 1-800-985-3059.